Logo ICCAS
Logo Uni Leipzig

Research

Imagebild Gruppe

Model-based Automation and Integration

The rapid developments of information- and communication technologies in medical engineering significantly change the requirements on a surgical workplace of today. The research area Model-based Automation and Integration comprises the development of an “intelligent” operating room with technique that meets the specific demands of surgeons and can be effectively utilized through compatibility. The goal of this integrated workplace is the qualitative and quantitative improvement of operations by relieving from non-productive activities and by increasing the patient’s safety trough a surgical workflow management.

further information

Imagebild Gruppe

Digital Patient- and Process Model

For complex diseases, the increasing number of available examinations and feasible therapies allow for more patient-specific therapy decisions with a higher probability of better outcomes and for therapy processes tailored to the individual patient. However, the large amount of patient data and the multitude of available therapy options can quickly become too extensive to be fully considered in a clinician’s decision making. The Digital Patient and Process Modelling Group is addressing this problem by developing therapy decision support systems, patient-specific therapy process models, methods for extracting and structuring patient data, and standardized information models.

further information

Imagebild Gruppe

Multimodal Intraoperative Imaging

The research goal is the development of non-invasive imaging-based assistant systems for surgical applications. The focus is on ultrasound imaging to support brain tumor operations, infrared thermography for the planning of skin transplant implantations and hyperspectral imaging for the monitoring of patient’s state and for the identification of anatomical structures in visceral surgery. Beside the introduction, clinical evaluation and improvement of the imaging devices for the operating room innovative and specific algorithms are developed to support the analysis of the image data and are evaluated with our clinical partners.

further information

Imagebild Gruppe

Noninvasive Image-guided Interventions

The research area Computer-Assisted Image-Based Interventions deals with new image-guided procedures and therapeutic assistance systems in the field of non-invasive interventions. It centers on the application of focused ultrasound under the guidance of magnetic resonance therapy (MRgFUS). Furthermore, research is carried out on the use of robotic-assisted MRgFUS and on interventional techniques in the PET-MRI. Another scope is targeted drug delivery and radiation therapy via in vitro cell cultures and the examination of a combined radio-FUS-therapy in cancer cells (SonoRay).

further information

Life Support Systems

The research group Life Support Systems (LSS) investigates innovative, non-invasive methods to diagnose and monitor injuries of the lung and in the future other dysfunctional organs. Research is currently focused on the advancement of Electrical Impedance Tomography (EIT) towards a patient-specific visualization of the lung function with attention to feasibility and emergency use cases inside and outside of the clinic. Furthermore, the group addresses the quantitative analysis of CT scans to numerically assess lung ventilation disorders, exceeding the visual assessment of the CT image slices. Through cooperation with medical technology manufacturers, a transfer of research results to clinically available medical devices is ensured.

further information

Projects

EMU

IMPACT

ZIK Logo
BMBF Logo

Logo ICCAS
Logo Uni Leipzig

Forschung

Imagebild Gruppe

Modelbasierte Automation und Integration

Die rasanten Entwicklungen von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien in der Medizintechnik verändern wesentlich die Anforderungen an den chirurgischen Arbeitsplatz von heute. Das Forschungsfeld Modellbasierte Automation und Integration umfasst die Entwicklung eines „intelligenten“ Operationssaales, in dem eine auf die Bedürfnisse der Chirurgen angepasste Technik zum Einsatz kommt, die durch Kompatibilität der Systeme untereinander effektiv genutzt werden kann. Ziel dieses integrierten Arbeitsplatzes ist die qualitative und quantitative Verbesserung von Operationsverläufen durch Entlastung von nichtproduktiven Nebenarbeiten und die Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit durch chirurgisches Workflowmanagement.

weitere Informationen

Imagebild Gruppe

Digitales Patienten- und Prozessmodell

Die wachsende Anzahl medizinischer Untersuchungsmöglichkeiten und Therapieformen für komplexe Krankheiten erfordert patientenspezifischere Therapieentscheidungen und Therapieprozesse, welche die Chance auf ein besseres klinisches Outcome erhöhen. Dies wird beträchtlich erschwert durch die Menge und Vielfalt an erhobenen Patientendaten und deren fragmentierter Speicherung und durch die Vielfalt an verfügbaren Therapieoptionen. Das Forschungsfeld Digitales Patienten- und Prozessmodell adressiert diese Probleme durch die Modellierung therapeutischer Entscheidungsprozesse und die Entwicklung von Entscheidungsunterstützungssystemen, patientenspezifischen Therapieprozessmodellen, Methoden zur Extraktion und Strukturierung relevanter Informationen aus Patientenakten und standardisierten Informationsmodellen.

weitere Informationen

Imagebild Gruppe

Multimodale Intraoperative Bildgebung

Die Forschungsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von nichtinvasiven bildgebungsbasierten Assistenzsystemen für chirurgische Anwendungen. Im Fokus stehen die Ultraschall-Bildgebung zur Unterstützung von Hirntumoroperationen, die Infrarot-Thermographie zur Planung von Hauttransplantat-Verpflanzungen und die Hyperspektral-Bildgebung zum Monitoring des Patientenzustandes und zur Erkennung von anatomischen Strukturen in der Viszeral-Chirurgie. Neben dem Einsatz, der klinischen Auswertung und Verbesserung der Bildgebungsgeräte für den Operationssaal werden innovative und spezifische Algorithmen zur Unterstützung der Interpretation und Analyse der Bilddaten entwickelt und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit klinischen Partnern ausgewertet.

weitere Informationen

Imagebild Gruppe

Computerassistierte Bildgestützte Interventionen

Das Forschungsfeld Computerassistierte Bildgestützte Interventionen beschäftigt sich mit neuen bildgesteuerten Verfahren und therapeutischen Assistenzsystemen im nichtinvasiven Bereich. Im Mittelpunkt steht der Einsatz von fokussiertem Ultraschall (FUS) unter Führung von Magnetresonanztherapie (MRgFUS). In präklinischen und klinischen Studien werden die Anwendungen auf verschiedene Organe untersucht. Weiterhin wird zu Einsätzen mit Roboter-assistiertem MRgFUS sowie interventionellen Techniken im PET-MRT geforscht. Ein weiteres Arbeitsgebiet ist die gezielte Arzneimittelabgabe und Strahlentherapie über In-vitro-Zellkulturen sowie die Untersuchung der kombinierten Anwendung von Strahlentherapie und FUS bei Krebserkrankungen (Meta-ZIK SonoRay).

weitere Informationen

Life Support Systems

Im Forschungsbereich Lebenserhaltungssysteme (LSS) werden innovative, nicht-invasive Verfahren zur Diagnose und Verlaufskontrolle von Lungenschädigungen und zukünftig weiteren Organfunktionsstörungen erforscht. Aktueller Schwerpunkt ist die Weiterentwicklung der Elektrischen Impedanz-Tomographie (EIT) zur patienten-spezifischen Visualisierung der Lungenfunktion mit Fokus auf Praktikabilität im inner- und außerklinischen Notfalleinsatz. Außerdem befasst sich die Arbeitsgruppe mit der quantitativen Analyse von CT-Scans zur numerischen Einschätzung von Störungen der Lungenbelüftung, die über die visuelle Auswertung der CT-Schichtbilder hinausgeht. Eine Kooperation mit Medizintechnik-Herstellern ermöglicht eine Überführung der Forschungsergebnisse in klinische Medizinprodukte.

weitere Informationen

Projekte

EMU

IMPACT

ZIK Logo
BMBF Logo