Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

headline-markerBegeisterte Teilnehmer der ersten Digital Operating Room Summerschool des ICCAS

30.09.2014

DORS Plakat30 September 2014

Last Friday, Professor Thomas Neumuth bade farewell to the participants of the first Digital Operating Room Summerschool (DORS) of the ICCAS. The instructive week full of informative sessions, on-site visits and application-oriented workshops found an enthusiastic echo among the international guests. Enlightening lectures, learning on a par with the experts, much space for practical exercises and individual support made the positive results of the first DORS.

The lectures covered a broad range of topics. Therefor the ICCAS had gained renowned experts from the fields of developing, applying and operating innovative information technologies for the digital operation room. In further sessions the research landscape of the ICCAS was introduced and selected projects were presented. The guest could get a picture from the practical implementation of innovations in computer assisted surgery during OR-visits at the Neurosurgery-Department of the Leipzig University Hospital and the IRDC Leipzig. At the Institute for Anatomy Prof. Ingo Bechmann impressively explained the components of the human body.

Finally, the guests were allowed to put hands on in medical technology workshops at the ICCAS. In the Demo-OR they milled with microscopic precision on phantom heads and vertebral bodies by the help of navigation. Also soft tissue navigation via ultrasound could be tested. Exercises on PC with the subject of workflow management were conducted. The common practicing and learning activities lasted until the late evening hours. That bonded together.

At the end, the participants confirmed a high relevance of the DORS-matters in terms of their own research. For the next time they wish a cross-disciplinary round of discussions. – An interesting proposal, that sounds promising – as promising as the very good start of the DORS 2014.

[nggallery id=18]

Back to News

Logo ICCAS
Logo Uni Leipzig

Begeisterte Teilnehmer der ersten Digital Operating Room Summerschool des ICCAS

30.09.2014

DORS Plakat30. September 2014

Vergangenen Freitag verabschiedete Prof. Thomas Neumuth die Teilnehmer der ersten Digital Operating Room Summerschool (DORS) des ICCAS. Die lehrreiche Woche mit informativen Sessions, Vor-Ort-Begehungen sowie anwendungsnahen Workshops hinterließ bei den internationalen Gästen ein begeistertes Echo. Aufschlussreiche Vorträge, Lernen auf Augenhöhe mit den Experten, viel Raum zur praktischen Übung und individuelle Betreuung machen u.a. die positive Bilanz der ersten DORS aus.

Die Inhalte der Vorlesungen waren breit gefächert. Dafür konnte das ICCAS renommierte Experten aus den Bereichen Entwickeln, Anwenden und Betreiben innovativer Informationstechnologien für den digitalen Operationssaal gewinnen. In weiteren Sessions wurden die Forschungslandschaft des ICCAS vorgestellt und ausgewählte Projekte näher beleuchtet. Von der praktischen Umsetzung der Innovationen in der computerassistierten Chirurgie konnten sich die Gäste während OP-Besichtigungen in der Neurochirurgie des UKL sowie im IRDC ein Bild machen. Im Institut für Anatomie erläuterte Prof. Ingo Bechmann eindrucksvoll die Bauteile des menschlichen Körpers.

Schließlich durften die Gäste in medizintechnischen Workshops am ICCAS selbst Hand anlegen. Im Demo-OP wurde unter Navigation, mikroskopisch genau an Phantomschädeln und Wirbelkörpern gefräst. Auch die Weichteilnavigation mit Ultraschall konnte ausprobiert werden. Am Rechner fanden Übungen zum Workflowmanagement statt. Bis in die Abende hinein wurde gemeinsam geübt und dazugelernt. Das schweißte zusammen.

Am Ende bestätigten die Teilnehmer eine hohe Relevanz der DORS-Inhalte hinsichtlich ihrer eigenen Forschungsarbeiten. Für das nächste Mal wünschen sie sich eine Disziplinen übergreifende Diskussionsrunde. – Ein interessanter Vorschlag, der vielversprechend klingt – so vielversprechend wie der sehr gute Auftakt der DORS 2014.

[nggallery id=18]

ZIK Logo
BMBF Logo