Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

Center

headline-markerStrategy and structure

The Innovation Center Computer Assisted Surgery develops digital technologies for future clinical use. It is the interface between research and application, promoting interdisciplinary collaboration between medical professionals, computer scientists, and engineers. Inside the institute’s own research operating theater, translations of novel medical technologies and therapeutic procedures are evaluated, based on the needs of clinicians.

The research center is a well-established and ISO 13485-certified partner for medical device companies. The research results facilitate the work of clinical personnel, increase treatment safety and lead to more economical work processes in the operating theater. ICCAS presents its new technologies to the public and specialist audiences at annual events.

The subjects:

  • model-based automation and integration in operating room and clinic,
  • open networking of medical devices from different manufacturers,
  • digital patient and therapy decision support models,
  • intraoperative multimodal imaging techniques,
  • medical robotics and artificial intelligence,
  • image-supported focused ultrasound,
  • MRI-assisted interventions,
  • life support systems.

headline-markerDevelopment and network

ICCAS is part of Leipzig University’s Faculty of Medicine. Founded in 2005 by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of its “Enterprise Region” funding program, today it is one of Germany’s most important biomedical technology research centers and enjoys international recognition.

A team of over 80 employees promotes regional and wider cooperation between science and industry. The close relationship with Leipzig University Hospital has proved to be a major advantage. There is international cooperation with research institutions and clinics in Europe, Asia and America.

Among the milestones of the past are successful spin-offs such as Phacon GmbH, which offers surgical training models all over the world, and “oncoflow” system, one of the first information systems for the interdisciplinary planning of tumor treatments between oncologists, radiologists and surgeons.

ICCAS is involved in developing the standard IEEE 11073 SDC (Service-oriented Device Connectivity) for medical device communication. This open interface is a joint result of the research partners of the OR.NET association. It is intended to pave the way for the manufacturer-neutral, cross-device networking and interoperability of medical technology components.

headline-markerTeaching

The Research Centre also contributes its expertise to higher education in the fields of medicine, computer science and systems engineering. Every year ICCAS hosts an international Digital Operating Room Summer School – DORS, which convinces with practical relevance and highlights many perspectives of the development and use of digital assistants.

Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

Zentrum

headline-markerStrategie und Struktur

Das Innovationszentrum für Computerassistierte Chirurgie (ICCAS) entwickelt digitale Technologien für zukünftige klinische Anwendungen. Es bildet die Schnittstelle zwischen Forschung und Anwendung und fördert die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen Medizinern, Informatikern und Ingenieuren. Im institutseigenen Forschungsoperationsaal werden Translationen neuartiger Medizintechnologien und Therapieverfahren evaluiert, die von den Bedürfnissen der Kliniker ausgehen.

Für Unternehmen in der Medizintechnik ist das Forschungszentrum ein etablierter und nach EN ISO 13485 zertifizierter Kooperationspartner. Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsergebnisse des ICCAS erleichtern die Arbeit des klinischen Personals, erhöhen die Behandlungssicherheit und führen zu wirtschaftlicheren Arbeitsabläufen im Operationssaal. Im Rahmen jährlich durchgeführter Veranstaltungen stellt das ICCAS die neuen Technologien der Öffentlichkeit und dem Fachpublikum vor.

Die Themen:

  • Modellbasierte Automation und Integration in Operationssaal und Klinik
  • Offene Vernetzung von Medizingeräten unterschiedlicher Hersteller
  • Digitale Patienten- und Therapieentscheidungsmodelle
  • Intraoperative Multimodale Bildgebungsverfahren
  • Medizinische Robotik und künstliche Intelligenz
  • Bildgestützter Fokussierter Ultraschall
  • MR-gestützte Interventionen
  • Life Support Systems

headline-markerEntwicklung und Netzwerk

Das ICCAS ist Teil der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Leipzig. Es wurde im Jahr 2005 im Rahmen der Förderinitiative „Unternehmen Region“ vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gegründet. Heute zählt es zu den bedeutendsten Forschungszentren für Biomedizinische Technik in Deutschland und erfreut sich internationaler Beachtung.

Ein Team von über 80 Mitarbeitern fördert die regionale und überregionale Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Vor allem die enge Anbindung an das Universitätsklinikum Leipzig erweist sich als großer Vorteil. Internationale Kooperationen bestehen mit Forschungseinrichtungen und Kliniken in Europa, Asien und Amerika.

Zu den Meilensteinen der Vergangenheit zählen erfolgreiche Ausgründungen, wie die Phacon GmbH, die weltweit chirurgische Trainingsmodelle anbietet oder das Informationssystem “oncoflow”, eines der ersten Systeme zur interdisziplinären Planung von Tumorbehandlungen zwischen Onkologen, Radiologen und Chirurgen.

ICCAS ist an der Entwicklung des Standards IEEE 11073 SDC (Service-oriented Device Connectivity) zur Medizingerätekommunikation beteiligt. Die offene Schnittstelle ist ein gemeinsames Ergebnis der Forschungspartner des OR.Net e.V. Sie soll den Weg für eine hersteller- und geräteneutrale Vernetzung und Interoperabilität von Medizintechnikkomponenten ebnen.

headline-markerLehre

Das Forschungszentrum bringt seine Kompetenzen ebenso in die Hochschulausbildung auf den Gebieten Medizin, Informatik und Systemtechnik ein. Jährlich führt es eine internationale Digital Operating Room Summer School – DORS – durch, die durch Praxisnähe überzeugt und sämtliche Perspektiven der Entwicklung und des Einsatzes digitaler Assistenzen beleuchtet.