Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

Project Coordination

PD Dr. habil. (PhD) Claire Chalopin

Partners

    University Hospital Leipzig, Department of Neurosurgery
    LOCALITE GmbH

Funder

Förderlogo

headline-markerAutoSON

Automatic navigated intraoperative ultrasound imaging for brain tumor removal | Subproject: Development of innovative automatic functionalities within a research platform, scientific evaluation of the algorithms and clinical evaluation of the AutoSon system

Goal of the project AutoSon is the development of a networked assistance system to support neurosurgical interventions. The AutoSon system includes an expanded neurosurgical navigation system inter-connected with a research platform. The AutoSon system will interact through opened interfaces during all phases of the clinical workflow: the planning, execution and documentation of the operation.

The developed innovative system should make more efficient and secure the use of intraoperative 3D ultrasound imaging during tumor removal. The new functionalities include the automatic recognition of the currently used ultrasound transducer with its configuration parameters (depth, focus, current frequency and modality) and the automatic selection of the corresponding calibration data for the 3D reconstruction of an ultrasound volume. Moreover, the system should perform the intraoperative and semi-automatic segmentation of crucial brain structures and tumor tissue for targeted surgical applications . The extracted structures will be promptly presented to the neurosurgeon through the interfaces of the navigation system and the surgical microscope.

Logo ICCAS
Logo Uni Leipzig

AutoSON

Automatisierter navigierter 3-D Ultraschall zur Hirntumorresektion; Teilprojekt: Entwicklung von innovativen automatischen Funktionalitäten in der Forschungsplattform und wissenschaftlichen Evaluation der Algorithmen und klinische Auswertung des AutoSon-Systems

Projektinhalt

Ziel des Projektes AutoSon ist die Entwicklung eines vernetzen Assistenzsystems zur Unterstützung neurochirurgischer Eingriffe. Das AutoSon-System besteht aus einem erweiterten, neurochirurgischen Navigationssystem sowie einer Forschungsplattform, die über offene Schnittstellen während der Planung, Durchführung und Dokumentation der Operation interagieren.
Das neue System soll insbesondere die Nutzung des intraoperativen 3D Ultraschalls effizienter und sicherer gestalten. Dies umfasst eine automatische Erkennung der verwendeten Ultraschallsonde sowie ihrer Konfiguration (Eindringtiefe, Zoom) und die automatische Auswahl der korrekten Transformation für die 3D Rekonstruktion eines Ultraschall-Volumens. Außerdem soll das System im konkreten Anwendungsfall die intraoperative, semiautomatische Segmentierung von kritischen Hirnstrukturen oder Tumorarealen ermöglichen, die umgehend dem Operateur über das Interface des Navigationssystems und ggf. dem Operationsmikroskop zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Projektleiter

ZIK Logo
BMBF Logo