Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

28.10.2019

headline-marker MOMENTUM

In the MOMENTUM project, medical technology is being developed that can be used not only in the hospital (eg in the trauma room, operating theater, intensive care unit), but also in preclinical care at the scene of the accident and in the ambulance. (read more)

13.05.2019

headline-marker COMPASS

The surgical navigation process in minimally-invasive endoscopic surgery is time- and resource- constrained and conventional navigation assistance technology is reduced to a passive-supportive role. In the project COMPASS, a new technology for immersive assistance in minimally-invasive and microscopic interventions is developed to convert navigation systems into fully-acknowledged surgical actors. (read more)

headline-marker ENSEMBLE

The project ENSEMBLE encompasses the development of a scalable and magnetic resonance-compatible cardiovascular system model. This closed-loop system shall be available as a self-contained trainings module, allowing the practicing of multiple surgical procedures, e.g. catheter-based operations. Using the developed model, future surgeons will be able to simulate realistic operations, so they can develop and expand their cognitive and motoric skills during the course of multiple practice sessions.

In order to present a trainings model, which is as realistic as possible, a pump, an artificial blood vessel tree and a blood-like fluid will be combined with auxiliary components. The developed system will allow for a simulated blood circulation, so that it will be possible to create an artificial operating situation, which immerses the trainee as best as possible. The deployed pump will be able to measure pressure, recognize changes in the pressure curve and adjust its regulation parameters automatically. Furthermore, it will be small, adaptable and powerful enough to drive the fluid inside of the circulatory system. This branched system will be composed of single arteries, capillaries and veins with additional valves, whose layout will be developed by an automatic segmentation algorithm. The permeability, thickness, elasticity and diameters of the artificial vessels will be comparable to their real counterparts. That way, the model shall provide a realistic reaction, when surgeons practice cuts or sutures with their instruments on it. The blood-like fluid, that the model is filled with, will possess a viscosity which shall be displayable to the user as well as adjustable to use-case-specific requirements.

21.06.2017

headline-marker PAPA-ARTIS

The initial goal is to establish a general understanding of the coiling patterns and their impact on the convalescence of spinal perfusion and the clinical outcome. Initially, an extensible patient model needs to be developed including multi-modal imaging & procedure parameters, e. g. blood pressure, heart rhythm, CVP, rMAP as well as anatomical parameters, such as Crawford classification, calcification status and artery kinking. (read more)

17.06.2020

headline-marker AutoCuff

Patients with tracheostomy tubes require devices for mechanical aspiration to extract solids and fluids that accumulate above the cuff balloon. In order to increase the success of the treatment and the patient’s health, the AutoCuff project aims to develop a new medical device that enables a more comprehensive care of the patient by means of digital control and monitoring functions as well as an interface for interoperable communication. By combining a cuff controller and a device for subglottic suction, the mutually influencing regularization cycles of the pressure management are to be coordinated to enable a gentler therapy. In order to support an efficient integration of the developed device into a clinical environment, the target system shall be equipped with an interoperable interface. The resulting communication between the system and other medical devices will contribute to the coordination of therapy-relevant parameters, which significantly improve the medical outcome of the treatment.

21.02.2020

headline-marker MPM

Healthcare is changing due to social challenges in the area of tension between cost efficiency through standardization and therapy effectiveness through personalization. Therapy-relevant information, for example in interdisciplinary oncological treatment, covers the entire range from omics data, imaging and laboratory values to the inclusion of living conditions. For efficient healthcare, the data must be available in daily clinical practice and decision support systems must seamlessly integrate into established clinical workflows.

The aim of the project is therefore to create a scientific and methodological basis for model-based, personalized cancer treatments that can be used in a large variety of clinical settings. The project addresses scientific questions in the field of knowledge modeling and data semantics as a starting point for the development of applications for personalized tumor therapy. So that we can provide a common understanding of work processes, patient data and decision-making processes as the basis for integration into clinical practice. The complexity of medical data and clinical processes requires the development of tailored applications for the respective clinical scenarios and user groups along the tumor treatment chain. The project demonstrates the applicability and added value of selected assistance systems as well as the integration of these applications based on interoperable models in cooperation with regional SME-partners and the clinical users.

10.06.2020

headline-marker ProDial

Haemodialysis treatment affects only 0.1% of the total population. However, this complex, long-term and chronic procedure requires 5 to 10% of the total health care costs in industrialized countries. Although the treatment ensures life-sustaining detoxification, it does not prevent the 5 to 10 times higher mortality of those affected patients with end-stage renal disease compared to the general population.

Nowadays, quality and process control of hemodialysis treatment is based on a general evaluation of biochemical and procedural measures, which does not really influence the individual patient’s outcome in terms of mortality and dialysis tolerance. For this reason, the ProDial project aims to develop an individual analysis of the dialysis treatment and a personalized data generation and handling scheme. For this purpose, time-synchronous data of different dialysis aspects will be collected and evaluated. This includes patient and therapy characteristics, biomedical real-time feedback, process information and patient reported outcomes. Innovative and anonymized data collection methods, including the integration of portable personal devices and sensors, will ensure integrated, searchable and personalized data storage.

Novel mechanisms for finding significant correlations between the referenced data categories should enable the development of personalized real-time dialysis treatment procedures in the long term. These data-based algorithms can then be integrated into modern and intelligent dialysis centers and, thus, facilitate a truly personalized real-time treatment. Such a treatment would respond immediately to the individual co-morbidity and tolerability behavior of the patient.

Link to project page

05.06.2020

headline-marker KIKS

Due to the new Medical Device Regulation of the EU, the requirements for reliable medical device data are continuously increasing. To prove their continuous safety and performance, a market observation of the products based on clinical studies is explicitly required, which also enables a comparative quality and performance evaluation. The market monitoring is expected to optimize the performance data of medical devices, but also to improve diagnosis and medical treatment. The acquisition, storage, and analysis of clinical data in compliance with the data protection regulations are essential for this evaluation. Currently, the market surveillance is often characterized by a lack of skilled personnel in industry and hospitals, cost pressure, legal uncertainty and IT systems with low interoperability.

These aspects will be addressed in the KIKS project (Artificial Intelligence for Clinical Studies). With the help of artificial intelligence epidemiological, clinical, para-clinical and radiological data can be automatically analyzed and used for the performance evaluation of medical devices.

Therefore, a digital ecosystem that ensures compliance with legal and ethical frameworks through state-of-the-art architecture and security technologies will be conceptualized and developed in the project. Within the framework of the platform, a database will be created, which enables both the clinics and medical device manufacturers to use clinical data for research and development effectively and in compliance with the EU regulatory framework.

As part of the sub-project, ICCAS will develop a “Digital Patient Model” that integrates different perspectives on treatment and the patient. The aim is to improve AI-supported clinical quality and performance assessment based on previous knowledge about the patient and the treatment. This includes aspects of diagnosis and the disease, information on therapies and the specific characteristics of the patient.

13.05.2019

headline-marker LYSiS

The aim is to develop a new laparoscopic imaging system and supporting non-invasive intraoperative measures to increase the identification and classification of risk structures and lesions for visceral, transplantation, thoracic and vascular surgery based on the latest high-resolution HSI technology. (read more)

03.07.2020

headline-marker SORLIC

Tumor diseases, traumatic damage and malformations often cause defects of body integrity, which makes plastic-reconstructive surgery necessary. Extensive defects require, among other things, the transfer of distant free flaps. Until now, the different pre- and intraoperative images have been analyzed and interpreted visually by the surgeon. However, there is no assistance system on the market that supports the intraoperative planning of reconstructive surgeries.
The SORLIC project aims at the development of such a mobile system, which will consist of a mobile cart, a measurement system, image processing functionalities for the automatic interpretation of image data, and a user interface for controlling the system and for generating medical documentation. It shall automatically recognize the perforator vessels and the supplied regions by means of imaging and propose a donor flap placement. This information will be projected onto the patient to support the surgeon in the decision making process.

Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

28.10.2019

headline-marker MOMENTUM

Im Projekt MOMENTUM wird Medizintechnik entwickelt, die nicht nur im Klinikum (bspw. in Schockraum, OP, Intensivstation), sondern bereits präklinisch am Unfallort und im Rettungswagen mobil eingesetzt werden kann. (mehr lesen)

13.05.2019

headline-marker COMPASS

Eine zentrale Fragestellung und Herausforderung des Vorhabens besteht in einer angemessenen Integration von Komponenten für die Entwicklung von Vorhersage- und Wahrnehmungsfunktionen der chirurgischen Navigation. Hierfür werden neue Erkenntnisse der Nachahmung und Modellierung der menschlichen Kognition als Ausgangspunkt genutzt, um ein künstliche Navigationsbewusstsein für die situative Nachvollziehbarkeit des Systemverhaltens zu ermöglichen. (mehr lesen)

headline-marker ENSEMBLE

Im Rahmen des Projektes ENSEMBLE wird ein skalierbares und Magnetresonanz (MR)-kompatibles Blutkreislaufmodell entwickelt. Dieses Modell soll ein geschlossenes System sein, welches als separates Trainingsmodul für bspw. katheterbasierte Eingriffe genutzt werden kann. Angehende Chirurgen sollen mithilfe des entwickelten Modells realitätsnahe Operationen simulieren können, bei denen sie kognitive und motorische Fähigkeiten im Zuge mehrfacher Übungssessions entwickeln und weiter ausbauen. (mehr lesen)

21.06.2017

headline-marker PAPA-ARTIS

Das unmittelbare Ziel ist die Erkenntnis über den Zusammenhang zwischen Verschlussmustern von Segmentarterien und der Kovaleszenz der vaskulären Rückenmarksversorgung und der entsprechenden Erfolgschancen. Im Rahmen des PimPaP-Projektes wird ein umfangreiches Patientenmodell auf Basis der erhobenen Patientenparameter entwickelt. (mehr lesen)

17.06.2020

headline-marker AutoCuff

Bei Patienten mit Tracheostomaversorgung bedarf es der künstlichen Absaugung von Festkörpern und Flüssigkeiten, die sich oberhalb des Cuff-Ballons sammeln. Um den Behandlungserfolg und die damit verbundene Lebensqualität des Patienten zu erhöhen, soll im Projekt AutoCuff ein neues medizinisches Gerät entwickelt werden. Dieses sorgt mithilfe digitaler Steuerungs- und Kontrollfunktionen sowie einer interoperablen Kommunikation für eine lückenlosere Versorgung des Patienten. Durch die Kombination des Cuffsaugers und –controllers werden die sich gegenseitig beeinflussenden Regelkreise des zugrundeliegenden Druck-Managements aufeinander abgestimmt werden. Dies ermöglicht eine schonendere Therapie. Mithilfe der Implementierung einer interoperablen Schnittstelle soll eine effiziente Integration des zu entwickelnden Gesamtsystems in eine klinische Umgebung ermöglicht werden. Die dadurch entstehende Kommunikation zwischen dem Zielsystem und anderen Medizingeräten soll einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Abstimmung von therapierelevanten Paramatern tragen, welche maßgeblich das medizinische Ergebnis der Behandlung verbessern.

21.02.2020

headline-marker MPM

Die moderne Medizin wandelt sich durch die zentralen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen im Spannungsfeld zwischen Kosteneffizienz durch Standardisierung und Therapieeffektivität durch Personalisierung. Therapierelevante Informationen, beispielsweise in der interdisziplinären onkologischen Behandlung, decken die ganze Bandbreite von Omics-Daten über Bildgebung und Laborwerte bis hin zur Einbeziehung von Lebensumständen ab. Für eine effiziente Gesundheitsversorgung müssen die Daten im klinischen Alltag intuitiv nutzbar sein.

Ziel des Projekts ist es daher, eine wissenschaftliche und methodische Grundlage für modellbasierte, personalisierte Behandlungen zu schaffen, die in einer Vielzahl von klinischen Situationen eingesetzt werden können. Das Vorhaben adressiert wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen im Bereich der Modellierung und semantischen Datenintegration als Ausgangspunkt für die Entwicklung von Assistenzanwendungen für die personalisierte Tumortherapie. Damit wird ein gemeinsames Verständnis der Arbeitsabläufe, Patientendaten und Entscheidungsverfahren als Basis für die Einbindung in die klinische Praxis bereitgestellt. Die große Komplexität der Daten und Prozesse erfordert die Entwicklung spezifischer Anwendungen für die jeweiligen Einsatzszenarien und Nutzergruppen entlang der Tumorbehandlungskette. Im Projekt werden sowohl Anwendbarkeit und Mehrwert einzelner Assistenzsysteme als auch die Integration entlang des Behandlungspfades in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen KMU-Partnern und klinischen Anwendern demonstriert.

10.06.2020

headline-marker ProDial

Nur etwa 0,1% der gesamten Bevölkerung benötigt eine Hämodialyse-Behandlung. Jedoch erfordert diese komplexe, langjährige und chronische Maßnahme 5 bis 10% der gesamten Gesundheitskosten in den Industrieländern. Obwohl die Behandlung eine lebenserhaltende Entgiftung der Patienten gewährleistet, kann sie jedoch nicht die 5 bis 10-fach höhere Sterblichkeit der betroffenen Patienten mit Nierenerkrankungen im Endstadium verglichen zur Allgemeinbevölkerung verhindern.

Die Qualitäts- und Prozesskontrolle der Hämodialysebehandlung basiert heutzutage auf einer allgemeinen Bewertung biochemischer und verfahrenstechnischer Maßnahmen, die das individuelle Ergebnis der Patienten hinsichtlich Mortalität und Dialyseverträglichkeit nicht wirklich beeinflusst. Aus diesem Grund zielt das ProDial Projekt zielt darauf ab, eine individuelle Analyse der Dialysebehandlung  sowie ein personalisiertes Datenerzeugungs- und -handhabungsschema zu entwickeln. Hierzu werden zeitlich synchrone Daten verschiedener Dialyseaspekte erhoben und ausgewertet. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Patienten- und Therapiecharakteristiken, biomedizinisches Echtzeit-Feedback, Prozessinformationen sowie Patient Reported Outcomes. Innovative und anonymisierte Verfahren zur Datenerfassung, einschließlich der Einbindung tragbarer persönlicher Geräte und Sensoren, sollen hierbei eine integrierte, durchsuchbare und personalisierte Datenspeicherung gewährleisten.

Neuartige Mechanismen zum Auffinden von signifikanten Korrelationen zwischen den referenzierten Datenkategorien sollen nachhaltig die Entwicklung personalisierter Echtzeit-Dialysebehandlungsverfahren ermöglichen. Diese datenbasierten Algorithmen können dann in moderne und intelligente Dialyseeinrichtungen integriert werden. Damit wird eine personalisierte variable Echtzeitbehandlung ermöglicht, die auf das individuelle Komorbiditäts- und Verträglichkeitsverhalten der Patienten unmittelbar reagiert.

Link zur Projektseite (en)

05.06.2020

headline-marker KIKS

Durch die neue Medical Device Regulation der EU steigen die Anforderungen an belastbare Daten zum Nachweis der Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit von Medizinprodukten. Dabei wird explizit eine fortlaufende Marktbeobachtung der Produkte auf Basis von klinischen Studien gefordert, die auch eine vergleichende Qualitäts- und Leistungsbewertung ermöglicht. Die kontinuierliche Überwachung soll dabei einerseits zur Optimierung der Leistungsdaten der Medizinprodukte aber auch zur Verbesserung der Diagnose und der medizinischen Behandlung dienen. Eine datenschutzkonforme Erfassung, Speicherung und Analyse klinischer Daten ist dabei für die Auswertung unerlässlich. In der Praxis trifft diese Forderung jedoch auf Fachkräftemangel in Industrie und Klinik, Kostendruck, Rechtsunsicherheit und IT-Systeme mit geringer Interoperabilität.

Hier setzt das Projekt KIKS an, denn sowohl epidemiologische, klinische, paraklinische als auch radiologische Daten können mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz automatisch analysiert und für die Leistungsbewertung von Medizinprodukten genutzt werden. Im Rahmen des Projektes wird daher ein digitales Ökosystem entwickelt, welches durch modernste Architektur und Sicherheitstechnologien die Einhaltung rechtlicher und ethischer Rahmenbedingungen gewährleistet. Im Rahmen der Plattform soll eine Datenbasis geschaffen werden, die es sowohl Kliniken als auch Medizinprodukteherstellern ermöglicht, klinische Daten effektiv und gesetzeskonform für Forschung und Entwicklung zu nutzen.

Das ICCAS wird im Rahmen des Teilvorhabens ein „Digitales Patientenmodell“ entwickeln, das verschiedene Perspektiven auf die Behandlung und den Patienten selbst integriert. Ziel ist es die KI-gestützte klinische Qualitäts- und Leistungsbewertung basierend auf dem Vorwissen über den Patienten bzw. dem Verlauf der Behandlung zu verbessern. Dazu gehören die Aspekte der Diagnose und der vorliegenden Krankheit, Informationen zu Therapien sowie den spezifischen Eigenschaften des Patienten.

13.05.2019

headline-marker LYSiS

Ziel ist die Erarbeitung eines neuen laparoskopischen Bildgebungssystems und unterstützender nicht-invasiver, intraoperativer Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Identifikation und Klassifikation von Risikostrukturen und Läsionen für die Viszeral-, Transplantations-, Thorax- und Gefäßchirurgie auf Basis neuester, hochaufgelöster HSI-Technologie. (mehr lesen)

03.07.2020

headline-marker SORLIC

Infolge von Tumorerkrankungen, traumatischen Schädigungen und Fehlbildungen entstehen häufig Defekte der Körperintegrität, welche plastisch-rekonstruktive Eingriffe erforderlich machen. Bei ausgedehnten Defekten werden u. a. Fernlappenplastiken notwendig. Gegenwärtig werden die unterschiedlichen prä- und intraoperativen Bilddaten durch den Chirurgen visuell analysiert und interpretiert. Es gibt jedoch kein Assistenzsystem auf dem Markt, das die intraoperative Planung von Lappenplastiken unterstützt.
Das Projekt SORLIC hat die Entwicklung eines solchen Systems für rekonstruktive Eingriffe zum Ziel. Es besteht aus einem mobilen Wagen, einem Messungssystem, Bildverarbeitungs-Funktionalitäten für die automatische Interpretation der Bilddaten sowie einer Nutzeroberfläche zur Steuerung des Systems und zur Generierung der medizinischen Dokumentation. Das System soll die Hautperforatoren und die versorgten Hautareale mittels Bildgebung automatisch erkennen und eine Planung zur Entnahme des Hauttransplantats anbieten. Diese Informationen sollen auf den Patienten projiziert werden, um den Chirurgen beim Entscheidungsprozess zu unterstützen.