Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

Research Area

Model-based medicine

Prof. Dr. Thomas Neumuth

Project Coordination

Jan Gaebel

Partners

    Directorate-General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO)
    European Burns Association
    Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe e.V.
    ReGEDiM: Research Group on Emergency and Disaster Medicine, Vrije Universiteit, Brussel
    Belgian First Aid and Support (B-FAST)
    EMT 2 Hospital Regione Piemonte, Italy
    EMT, Instituto Nacional de Emergência Médica, Portugal
    EMT Estonia, European Medical Corps

headline-markerEOS

Emergency Medical Team Operating System

The European medical response system is comprised of first responder units that are operating quickly and lightly. On occurring disasters (e.g. earthquakes, tsunamis, floods, etc.), these Emergency Medical Teams (EMT) are deployed on disaster relief missions to support the local medical system and avert humanitarian crises.
The “EMT Operating System” (EOS) is a field hospital information system, which is tailored to the requirements of EMT on disaster relief missions. Its idea was created and designed during the EUMFH-Project. The system supports the whole patient treatment process from triage to discharge and is highly configurable to adapt to the needs of the EMT. Despite EOS being primarily designed as an electronic patient record, it also includes essential functions for EMT mission and field hospital management. Besides patient management and treatment documentation, EOS enables quick department configuration, visualization of important hospital key performance indicators (patient admissions, triage category count, department workload, etc.) and reporting functionalities (e.g. to local government or WHO). Thus, EOS plays an essential role in monitoring and assessing the current situation and performance on a strategic and tactical level.
EOS provides highly customizable functionalities. They can be adjusted to the specific frameworks of different EMT entities or other requirements by specialized teams, e.g. Burn Assessment Teams. Generally speaking, EOS includes digital documentation and management of the usual processes within an EMT. However, detailed characteristics can differ.
EOS relies heavily on structured data entry and storage (in contrast to free texts). This ensures high information quality and supports fast and easy data input as well as automatic information aggregation in databases. The latter benefits the reporting obligation and allows for comparison between different missions or EMT installations.
The system is under continuous development in close collaboration with different first responder organizations. It will be free of charge for civil first responder organizations. Designed as a web application, EOS can be used with modern browsers (e.g. Chrome, Firefox, etc.) and can be utilized easily on PCs, laptops or touch devices like tablet pcs or smartphones. You are interesting in using EOS or wanting to try it out? Then contact us: eos@iccas.de.

Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

Forschungsbereich

Modellbasierte Medizin und intelligenter Operationssaal

Prof. Dr. Thomas Neumuth

Projektkoordination

Jan Gaebel

Partner

    Directorate-General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO)
    European Burns Association
    Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe e.V.
    ReGEDiM: Research Group on Emergency and Disaster Medicine, Vrije Universiteit, Brussel
    Belgian First Aid and Support (B-FAST)
    EMT 2 Hospital Regione Piemonte, Italy
    EMT, Instituto Nacional de Emergência Médica, Portugal
    EMT Estonia, Europäisches Medizinisches Korps

headline-markerEOS

Emergency Medical Team Operating System

Das europäische System für humanitäre Hilfe besteht aus First-Responder-Einheiten, die schnell und flexibel eingesetzt werden können. Bei Katastrophen (z. B. Erdbeben, Tsunamis, Überschwemmungen usw.) werden diese Emergency Medical Teams (EMT) in Katastrophenhilfemissionen eingesetzt, um das lokale Gesundheitssystem zu unterstützen und humanitäre Krisen abzuwenden.
Das „EMT Operating System“ (EOS) ist ein Informationssystem für Feldkrankenhäuser und First-Responder-Einheiten, das auf die Anforderungen von EMTs bei Katastrophenhilfemissionen zugeschnitten ist. Die Idee wurde im Rahmen des EUMFH-Projektes geboren und entwickelt. Das System unterstützt den gesamten Behandlungsprozess von Patienten von der Triage bis zur Entlassung und ist hochgradig konfigurierbar, um sich an die individuellen Bedürfnisse der EMT anzupassen. Obwohl EOS in erster Linie als elektronische Patientenakte konzipiert ist, enthält es auch wesentliche Funktionen für die EMT-Mission und das Krankenhausmanagement vor Ort. Neben der Patientenverwaltung und der Behandlungsdokumentation ermöglicht EOS eine schnelle Abteilungskonfiguration, die Visualisierung wichtiger Leistungsindikatoren für Krankenhäuser (Patientenaufnahme, Anzahl der Triage-Kategorien, Arbeitsbelastung der Abteilung usw.) und Berichtsfunktionen (z. B. an die lokale Regierung oder die WHO). Daher spielt EOS eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Überwachung und Bewertung der aktuellen Situation und Leistung auf strategischer und taktischer Ebene.
EOS bietet hochgradig anpassbare Funktionen. Sie können für die Anforderungen von spezialisierten Teams, z. Burn Assessment Teams, angepasst werden. Im Allgemeinen umfasst EOS die digitale Dokumentation und Verwaltung der üblichen Prozesse innerhalb eines EMT. Detaillierte Eigenschaften können jedoch abweichen.
EOS setzt auf strukturierte Dateneingabe und -speicherung (im Gegensatz zu Freitexten). Dies gewährleistet eine hohe Informationsqualität und unterstützt eine schnelle und einfache Dateneingabe sowie eine automatische Informationsaggregation in Datenbanken. Letzteres kommt der Meldepflicht zugute und ermöglicht den Vergleich zwischen verschiedenen Missionen oder EMT-Typen.
Das System wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Hilfsorganisationen kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Für zivile Hilfsorganisationen und NGOs ist dies kostenlos. EOS wird als Webanwendung entwickelt und kann mit modernen Browsern (z. B. Chrome, Firefox usw.) verwendet werden. Es kann problemlos auf PCs, Laptops oder Touch-Geräten wie Tablet-PCs oder Smartphones verwendet werden. Sie sind an der Verwendung von EOS interessiert oder möchten es ausprobieren? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns: eos@iccas.de.