Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

RESEARCH AREAS

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Model-based Automation and Integration

Rapid advances in information and communication technologies in the field of medical devices are significantly changing the demands placed on modern surgical workplaces. The Model-based Automation and Integration (MAI) research field involves developing a “smart” operating theater: adapted to the needs of surgeons, its technology can be used effectively thanks to the systems’ compatibility with each other. The goal of this integrated workplace is the qualitative and quantitative improvement of surgical procedures by reducing non-productive secondary work and increasing patient safety through surgical workflow management.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Personalized Medicine

The growing number of medical examination options and forms of therapy for complex diseases necessitates more patient-specific therapeutic decisions and processes, so as to increase the likelihood of a better clinical outcome. This is complicated significantly by the amount and variety of patient data collected and the fragmented way in which this information is stored, not to mention the variety of treatment options available. The Personalized Medicine research field addresses these problems by modelling therapeutic decision processes and developing decision support systems, patient-specific therapy process models, methods for extracting and structuring relevant information from patient files, and standardized information models.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Intraoperative Multimodal Imaging

This research unit deals with the development of non-invasive imaging-based assistance systems for surgical applications. The focus is on ultrasound imaging to support brain tumour surgery, infrared thermography for planning skin grafts, and hyperspectral imaging for monitoring the patient’s condition and identifying anatomical structures in visceral surgery. In addition to the use, clinical evaluation and improvement of imaging devices for the operating theater, the unit develops innovative and specific algorithms for supporting the interpretation and analysis of image data, evaluating this information in close cooperation with clinical partners.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Life Support Systems

The Life Support Systems (LSS) research unit investigates innovative, non-invasive methods for diagnosing and monitoring the progression of lung damage, with further organ dysfunctions planned for the future. The current focus is on the further development of electrical impedance tomography (EIT) for the patient-specific visualization of lung function, with a particular emphasis on practicability in emergency situations in and outside of hospitals. The research unit is also concerned with the quantitative analysis of CT scans for the numerical assessment of pulmonary ventilation disorders, which goes beyond the visual evaluation of CT slices. Collaboration with medical technology manufacturers facilitates the transfer of research results into clinical medical devices.

Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

FORSCHUNGSDELDER

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Modellbasierte Automation und Integration

Die rasanten Entwicklungen von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien in der Medizintechnik verändern wesentlich die Anforderungen an den chirurgischen Arbeitsplatz von heute. Das Forschungsfeld Modellbasierte Automation und Integration umfasst die Entwicklung eines „intelligenten“ Operationssaales, in dem eine auf die Bedürfnisse der Chirurgen angepasste Technik zum Einsatz kommt, die durch Kompatibilität der Systeme untereinander effektiv genutzt werden kann. Ziel dieses integrierten Arbeitsplatzes ist die qualitative und quantitative Verbesserung von Operationsverläufen durch Entlastung von nichtproduktiven Nebenarbeiten und die Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit durch chirurgisches Workflowmanagement.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Personalisierte Medizin

Die wachsende Anzahl medizinischer Untersuchungsmöglichkeiten und Therapieformen für komplexe Krankheiten erfordert patientenspezifischere Therapieentscheidungen und Therapieprozesse, welche die Chance auf ein besseres klinisches Outcome erhöhen. Dies wird beträchtlich erschwert durch die Menge und Vielfalt an erhobenen Patientendaten und deren fragmentierter Speicherung und durch die Vielfalt an verfügbaren Therapieoptionen. Das Forschungsfeld Personalisierte Medizin adressiert diese Probleme durch die Modellierung therapeutischer Entscheidungsprozesse und die Entwicklung von Entscheidungsunterstützungssystemen, patientenspezifischen Therapieprozessmodellen, Methoden zur Extraktion und Strukturierung relevanter Informationen aus Patientenakten und standardisierten Informationsmodellen.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Intraoperative Multimodale Bildgebung

Die Forschungsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von nichtinvasiven bildgebungsbasierten Assistenzsystemen für chirurgische Anwendungen. Im Fokus stehen die Ultraschall-Bildgebung zur Unterstützung von Hirntumoroperationen, die Infrarot-Thermographie zur Planung von Hauttransplantat-Verpflanzungen und die Hyperspektral-Bildgebung zum Monitoring des Patientenzustandes und zur Erkennung von anatomischen Strukturen in der Viszeral-Chirurgie. Neben dem Einsatz, der klinischen Auswertung und Verbesserung der Bildgebungsgeräte für den Operationssaal werden innovative und spezifische Algorithmen zur Unterstützung der Interpretation und Analyse der Bilddaten entwickelt und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit klinischen Partnern ausgewertet.

Imagebild Gruppe

headline-marker Life Support Systems

Im Forschungsbereich Life Support Systems (LSS) werden innovative, nicht-invasive Verfahren zur Diagnose und Verlaufskontrolle von Lungenschädigungen und zukünftig weiteren Organfunktionsstörungen erforscht. Aktueller Schwerpunkt ist die Weiterentwicklung der Elektrischen Impedanz-Tomographie (EIT) zur patienten-spezifischen Visualisierung der Lungenfunktion mit Fokus auf Praktikabilität im inner- und außerklinischen Notfalleinsatz. Außerdem befasst sich die Arbeitsgruppe mit der quantitativen Analyse von CT-Scans zur numerischen Einschätzung von Störungen der Lungenbelüftung, die über die visuelle Auswertung der CT-Schichtbilder hinausgeht. Eine Kooperation mit Medizintechnik-Herstellern ermöglicht eine Überführung der Forschungsergebnisse in klinische Medizinprodukte.