Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

15.04.2019

headline-marker DPM

In the project, information theoretical concepts for the formal description and modelling of patient data and surgical decision-making processes are developed. Patient models link and analyze all data relevant for surgery and therapy planning and thus enable an all-round representation of the patient and his diseased organ. Decision models describe the decision-making processes. (read more)

22.06.2017

headline-marker PET-MRgFUS

21.06.2017

headline-marker Dental Imaging

The major goal in dental treatment is oral health and maintenance of tooth structures. Therefor a modern caries management (prophylaxes) is necessary including all procedures to prevent new carious lesions (defects). Equally important is the detection and assessment of early carious lesions and monitoring of direct and indirect restorations (tooth-restoration bond). The noninvasive imaging OCT is a suitable approach for the representation of hard dental structures up to a depth of 2.5 mm. Former studies demonstrated that the detection of carious lesions and the assessment of tooth-composite bond are promising application areas of OCT in tooth preservation.

Publications

Schneider H, Park KJ, Häfer M, Rüger C, Schmalz G, Krause F, Schmidt J, Ziebolz D and Haak R. Dental Applications of Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) in Cariology. Appl. Sci. 2017; 7(5): 472-493

Park KJ, Schneider H, Haak R. Assessment of interfacial defects at composite restorations by swept source optical coherence tomography. J Biomed Opt. 2013; 18(7):076018

Park KJ, Schneider H, Haak R. Assessment of defects at tooth/self-adhering flowable composite interface using swept-source optical coherence tomography (SS-OCT). Dent Mater. 2015; 31(5):534-41

Häfer M, Jentsch H, Haak R, Schneider H. A three-year clinical evaluation of a one-step self-etch and a two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive in non-carious cervical lesions. J Dent. 2015; 43(3):350-61

Schneider H, Krause F, Ziebolz D, Haak R. Optische Kohärenztomographie in der Kariesdiagnostik und Restaurationsbeurteilung. Quintessenz 2016; 67(7): 869-879

Schneider H, Park KJ, Rueger C, Ziebolz D, Krause F, Haak R. Imaging resin infiltration into non-cavitated carious lesions by optical coherence tomography. J Dent. 2017; 60:94-98

Park KJ, Haak R, Ziebolz D, Krause F, Schneider H. OCT assessment of non-cavitated occlusal carious lesions by variation of incidence angle of probe light and refractive index matching. J Dent. 2017; 62:31-35

headline-marker BIOPASS

Navigation systems based on optical tracking are an essential component in minimally-inva-sive surgery. However, these assisting systems require additional hardware in the operating room and can only poorly adapt to the surgical skills and the anatomical knowledge. In the BIOPASS project, a novel localization approach for a markerless navigation system is devel-oped that potentially reduces the navigation hardware while assisting the surgeon’s cogni-tion with self-learning and adaptive assistance functions. Critical aspects for the develop-ment of such an intelligent system are the surgeon’s ambiguous perception of adaptive system behavior and information presentation. As a consequence, the primary goals of the BIOPASS project are the definition of clearer human-machine-interaction (HMI) require-ments for adaptive systems in the OR and the development of a corresponding presentation model of surgery-related situational infor-mation needed by the surgeon. As a result, current work steps comprise studies for knowl-edge representation of situational information in a functional endoscopic sinus surgery (FESS) and intraoperative information presentation in a preliminary mock-up demonstrator.

20.04.2017

headline-marker OntoMedRisk

Medizinisches Personal arbeitet oft unter großer physischer und psychischer Belastung, wodurch sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Fehlern und unerwünschten Ereignissen erhöht. Im Rahmen des OntoMedRisk-Projekts wird daher eine agentenbasierte, ontologie-gestützte Softwarelösung entwickelt, um das Auftreten solcher Ereignisse zu minimieren. Das Ziel ist es, Ärzten und medizinischem Fachpersonal eine technische Unterstützung zur prozessübergreifenden Risikoerkennung und Fehlervermeidung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Softwarelösung soll dynamisch eine Risikoanalyse auf der Grundlage von verfügbaren Datenquellen (wie der Patientenakte, dem KIS oder Checklisten, aber auch basierend auf realen Situationen im Prozess) durchführen. Daraufhin sollen kontextsensitive Hinweise zur Fehlervermeidung für die am Prozess beteiligten Fachkräfte generiert werden.

02.12.2020

headline-marker OncoControl

Project description

The multidisciplinary treatment of patients in head-and-neck tumor therapy is a challenging problem for the clinicians involved due to the huge amount of available information. This information stems from diagnostic methods such as patient history, blood count and biopsy results as well as medical imaging techniques like computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and positron emission tomography (PET). In order to support the clinicians, these complex information entities must be processed in a meaningful way. The project OncoControl is the realization of a web-based system which is intended to support the head and neck oncology in exploration, analysis and management of patient data.

Research goals

The central idea in developing OncoControl is the improvement of the oncological therapy decision-making processes in the field of complex head and neck tumors, improving existing work and treatment processes as well as a support of the decision-making process in the tumor board through the use of endoscopy images and 3D tumor reconstructions alongside the current unused slice images from computed tomography (CT) and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

Additionally, a new and innovative form of presentation, the “treatment summary”, supports the clinicians after opening the patient file with a compressed representation of all relevant information in the current treatment step and provides a quick overview of the current patient status.

Project priorities

  • Automatic centralized information aggregation
  • Improving data quality and prioritization of information
  • Automatic generation of “treatment summary” and clinical documents
  • Computerized TNM classification
  • Verification, integration and evaluation of the overall system in clinical use

Previous research results

Associated publications:

Birnbaum, Zebralla, Boehm, Dietz, Neumuth. „Metric Learning for TNM-Classifications of Patients with Head and Neck Tumors“. CARS 2016 Proceedings. Heidelberg, 2016.

Meier, Jens, Stefan Bohn, Bernhard Glaser, Klemens Birnbaum, Andreas Boehm, und Thomas Neumuth. „The Treatment Planning Unit: Concept and realization of an integrated multimedia decision support system for multidisciplinary team meetings“. In MedInfo 2015. Sao Paolo, 2015.

Meier, Jens, Andreas Dietz, Andreas Boehm, and Thomas Neumuth. “Predicting Treatment Process Steps from Events.” Journal of Biomedical Informatics 53 (February 2015): 308–19. doi:10.1016/j.jbi.2014.12.003.

Outlook

The development of the clinical information system OncoControl allows the physician to get all information about existing patients in a consistent and structured way as well as to retrieve clinical documents such as medical reports or surgery reports. Furthermore, OncoControl allows the clinicians to create and make use of existing information for clinical trials, quality management or conducting clinical certifications. Building on the established central database innovative and knowledge-based methods will assist the clinicians, for example for the TNM classification or document generation in diagnosis, treatment strategy, documentation, as well as presentation and patient education and thus facilitate their clinical practice and the communication between professionals. The use of automated procedures should also pave the way for standardized procedures and comparable analysis results.

21.09.2020

headline-marker EVENTOR

Project description

Eventor is a project in cooperation with the SWAN – Scientific Workflow Analysis GmbH. The aim of the project is the development of concepts for interconnecting process logic and integration technologies for intra- and peri-operative purposes. This allows the semi automation of data exchange and interaction between medical devices based on the surgical situation. Hence, novel forms of surgical assistance might be developed. Additionally, human machine interaction might be simplified to unburden the surgeon and the OR-staff. The implementation is mostly based upon existing integration technologies as well as a tailored rule set for handling of process information. The developed concepts and prototypical implementations will be evaluated for selected clinical fields of application.

Research goals

The increasing number of medical devices and information systems around the operating theatre lead to additional administrative workload. The project evaluates the application of process information to simplify these tasks. This includes the following research goals:

  • integration of existing medical devices and information systems with a process logic,
  • modeling of surgical requirements, based on surgical process model concepts,
  • development of a tailored rule set for process information,
  • implementation and evaluation of prototypical systems for selected clinical use cases.

Priorities of the project

Eventor focusses on three research topics:

  • complex modeling of surgical procedure,
  • situation-aware communication and interaction of medical devices,
  • dynamic information exchange based on surgical workflow.

Previous research results

Currently, we analyzed clinical fields of application and their requirements towards dynamic integration of process logic. Furthermore, existing technologies in various fields of research had been evaluated.

eventor_bild
The figure illustrates the event-based networking of various devices and systems in the operating room.

Outlook

Eventor develops and evaluates concepts for dynamic interconnection of process logic and integration technologies for various clinical applications. The developed concepts and prototypes will contribute to the development of situation-aware medical devices.

03.09.2020

headline-marker OR.NET

Project description

OR.NET is a collaborative project funded by the BMBF program “ICT 2020 – Research for Innovation”. The goal of the initiative is to develop basic concepts for safe dynamic networking of medical devices within the operating room. Especially the automatic dynamic networking of computerized medical devices and the interaction of these devices with medically approved software is of particular interest in the medical technology domain. The close cooperation between manufacturers, clinical operators, academia and regulatory bodies facilitates new ways of designing software architectures for the future hospital. The focus is on IT in the operating room and the pre- and postoperative phases, which also connects systems for surgical planning, OR management, as well as diagnosis and treatment. A special focus is on networking, interoperability and the safe operation of the OR infrastructure. To conceptualize and define new standards, research is being conducted regarding risk analysis, safety, security, interoperability and IT infrastructure together with standards committees (VDE, DIN, DKE, IHE …).

Research goals

The overall goal of the OR.NET project is the integration of medical devices in the operating room based on standardized communication technologies. The overall goal is divided into the following sub-projects:

  • Networking of medical devices based on a SOA with the use of existing internet “standards” such as WSDL, SOAP, and XML Schema,
  • Transition of the developed OR.NET solutions into international standards,
  • Development of appropriate operating,
  • Design, evaluation and implementation of software components for the digital operating room,
  • Technologies developed during the project will be implemented in clinical demonstrators.

ICCAS sub-projects

The overall project OR.NET is conducted by 46 project partners. The developments at the ICCAS comprise the following topics:

  • Clinical and technological requirements analysis,
  • Integration of results from preliminary projects (e.g. smartOR) and support of clinical and industrial partners,
  • Definition of an IT-architecture for the integrated operating room,
  • Design, evaluation and implementation of software components for the digital operating room,
  • Development and implementation of communication interfaces for information systems, medical devices and communication gateways,
  • Participation in the definition of new standards for medical device interoperability,
  • Implementation of a demonstrator operating room in Leipzig,
  • Evaluation and validation of the overall concepts within the clinical environment.

Previous research results

Several requirement analyses have been carried out in collaboration with clinical partners. Multiple surgical interventions from neurosurgery and ENT have been identified as reference workflows for OR.NET. From these interventions technical requirements, regarding device integration and medical device interoperability, are being derived. Together with technical project partners several workshops have been conducted to define communication requirements for medical device integration using plug-and-play technologies. As a result, this leads to formal device abstractions that are being used to define an integration-architecture with appropriate interface technologies.

Cooperation partners

A total of 57 partners from research and industry under the leadership of the University Hospital Heidelberg, Munich Technical University and RWTH Aachen University are involved in this cooperation project.

Carl Zeiss Meditec, AGConworx Technology GmbH, DIN – Deutsches Institut für Normung e. V., Forschungsstelle für Medizinproduktrecht (FMPR), Fraunhofer FIRST, Fraunhofer MEVIS, how to organize, IHE Deutschland e. V., Ingenieurbüro Wolfgang Blocher, Inomed Medizintechnik GmbH, KARL STORZ, Klinikum Rostock, Klinik für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin KLS Martin Group, LOCALITE GmbH, MedPlan Engineering GmbH, MT2IT, qcmed GmbH Quality Consulting Medical, Rhön-Kliniken AG, Richard Wolf GmbH, RWTH Aachen, Lehrstuhl für Medizinische Informationstechnik (MedIT), RWTH Aachen, Lehrstuhl für Medizintechnik (mediTEC), Siemens HealthCare, STARC medical GmbH, SurgiTAIX AG, Synagon GmbH, Söring GmbH, TRILUX GmbH & Co. KG Medical Technology, TU München, Institut für Informatik, Robotics and Embedded Systems, TU München, Lehrstuhl für Automatisierung und Informationssysteme, TU München, Lehrstuhl MIMED im Bereich Mechatronik, TU München, Minimal-invasive Interdisziplinäre Therapeutische Intervention (MITI), Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Integrierte Teleanästhesiologie, Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Klinik für Anästhesiologie, Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Orthopädische Klinik, Uniklinik Leipzig, Klinik für HNO, Uniklinik Leipzig, Klinik für Neurochirurgie, Uniklinik Tübingen, Radiologische Universitätsklinik, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitäts- Frauenklinik, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitätsklinik für Radiologie, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitätsklinik für Urologie, UniTransferKlinik GmbH, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Zentrum für Informations- und Medizintechnik, Universitätsklinikum Schleswig- Holstein, Chirurgie, Universitätsklinikum Schleswig- Holstein, Stabsstelle IT, Universität Rostock – Institut für Angewandte Mikroelektronik und Datentechnik, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Softwaretechnik und Programmiersprachen, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Telematik, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Medizinische Informatik, VDE Verband der Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik, VISUS Technology Transfer GmbH, Vital Images Germany GmbH, Ziehm Imaging GmbH, MEDNOVO Medical Software Solutions GmbH

17.11.2020

headline-marker Surgery Planning Software for Vascular Prostheses Implantation

Project description

The project deals with the definition of requirements for surgical planning software, which will focus on the surgical use of stent grafts. Furthermore the feasibility of a physically based simulation model for the assessment of stent graft fixation and sealing potential are studied and requirements for a software module for analyzing the results in the medical environment will get defined. The writability of the resulting data is based primarily on existing standards. Required extensions are also included.

Main topics of the project

  • Implant selection in endovascular surgery
  • Integration of Finite Element Method (FEM) in a medical planning software
  • Human-Machine Interaction
  • Workflow analysis
  • Medical standards: DICOM

Problem

A common complication of endovascular aortic aneurysm exclusion is the slipping of the stent graft resulting in insufficient sealing of the vessel. This post-operative complication may be associated with the selection of the vascular implant in the compound. In particular the determination of the stent graft oversize for the fixation of the implant in the vessel is of crucial importance.


Figure 1: Integration of Calculation Results (FEM Model) into Medical Planning Software for the Evaluation of Stent Graft Properties (Fixation and Sealing Potential)


Figure 2: EVAR Patient Model: Description of all Intervention Relevant Data. Integration of Simulation-Specific Data Using Standardized Data Structures

Research goals

  • Integration of FEM results in a medical scheduling software for better assessment of migration and leakage risk in endovascular aortic aneurysm exclusion
  • Support the physician in selecting a suitable vessel implant through the quantified assessment of stent graft properties in the implanted state

Logo ICCAS Logo ICCAS
ISO - Certivication

20.04.2017

headline-marker OntoMedRisk

Medizinisches Personal arbeitet oft unter großer physischer und psychischer Belastung, wodurch sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Fehlern und unerwünschten Ereignissen erhöht. Im Rahmen des OntoMedRisk-Projekts wird daher eine agentenbasierte, ontologie-gestützte Softwarelösung entwickelt, um das Auftreten solcher Ereignisse zu minimieren. Das Ziel ist es, Ärzten und medizinischem Fachpersonal eine technische Unterstützung zur prozessübergreifenden Risikoerkennung und Fehlervermeidung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Softwarelösung soll dynamisch eine Risikoanalyse auf der Grundlage von verfügbaren Datenquellen (wie der Patientenakte, dem KIS oder Checklisten, aber auch basierend auf realen Situationen im Prozess) durchführen. Daraufhin sollen kontextsensitive Hinweise zur Fehlervermeidung für die am Prozess beteiligten Fachkräfte generiert werden.

02.12.2020

headline-marker OncoControl

Projektbeschreibung

Die interdisziplinäre Behandlung von Patienten mit der Diagnose Kopf-Hals-Tumor (KHT) stellt die verschiedenen beteiligten Fachdisziplinen vor die Herausforderung, einerseits die komplexen dreidimensionalen anatomischen Zusammenhänge (Chirurgie und Strahlentherapie) sowie andererseits Daten der zunehmend diversifizierten Molekularbiologie für eine sinnvolle Therapieentscheidung aufzubereiten.

Ziel des Projektes OncoControl ist die Realisierung eines webbasierten Systems für die Kopf-Hals-Onkologie, mit dem die Exploration, Analyse und Verwaltung von Patientendaten erfolgen kann. Dadurch soll die Kommunikation zwischen den einzelnen klinischen Disziplinen, die am onkologischen Workflow beteiligt sind, sowie Diagnose- und Therapieprozesse durch geeignete technische Mittel unterstützt und optimiert werden.

Forschungsziele

Der zentrale Gedanke bei der Entwicklung von OncoControl fokussiert die Qualitätssteigerung onkologischer Therapieentscheidungsprozesse auf dem Gebiet der komplexen Kopf-Hals-Tumore, die Verbesserung bestehender Arbeits- und Behandlungsprozesse sowie eine Unterstützung des Entscheidungsfindungsprozesses im Tumorboard durch den Einsatz von Endoskopiebildern und 3D Tumorrekonstruktionen neben den bisher genutzten Schichtbildern aus Computertomographie (CT) und Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT).

Eine neue und innovative Präsentationsform, die Treatment Summary, unterstützt den Arzt nach dem Öffnen der Patientenakte mit einer komprimierten Darstellung aller relevanten Informationen im aktuellen Behandlungsschritt und bietet eine schnelle Übersicht über den aktuellen Patientenstatus.

Thematische Schwerpunkte

  • Automatische zentralisierte Informationsaggregation
  • Erhöhung der Datenqualität und Priorisierung von Informationen
  • Automatische Generierung der Treatment Summary und klinischer Dokumente
  • Computergestützte TNM-Klassifikation
  • Verifikation, Integration und Evaluierung des Gesamtsystems im klinischen Einsatz

Bisherige Forschungsergebnisse

Zugehörige Publikationen:

Birnbaum, Zebralla, Boehm, Dietz, Neumuth. „Metric Learning for TNM-Classifications of Patients with Head and Neck Tumors“. CARS 2016 Proceedings. Heidelberg, 2016.

Meier, Jens, Stefan Bohn, Bernhard Glaser, Klemens Birnbaum, Andreas Boehm, und Thomas Neumuth. „The Treatment Planning Unit: Concept and realization of an integrated multimedia decision support system for multidisciplinary team meetings“. In MedInfo 2015. Sao Paolo, 2015.

Meier, Jens, Andreas Dietz, Andreas Boehm, and Thomas Neumuth. “Predicting Treatment Process Steps from Events.” Journal of Biomedical Informatics 53 (February 2015): 308–19. doi:10.1016/j.jbi.2014.12.003.

Ausblick

Die Entwicklung des klinischen Informationssystems OncoControl soll es dem Arzt ermöglichen, alle Informationen zu bestehenden Patienten in einer einheitlichen, strukturierten und auf den klinischen Arbeitsalltag zugeschnittenen Benutzeroberfläche abzurufen, klinische Dokumente wie Arztbriefe oder OP-Berichte aus gegebenen Informationen mit nur minimalem Zeitaufwand zu erstellen und die bestehenden Informationen für klinische Studien, Qualitätsmanagement oder die Durchführung klinischer Zertifizierungen zu nutzen. Weiterhin soll das System durch innovative Verfahren z.B. zur TNM-Klassifikation oder Dokumentengenerierung bei der Diagnose, Behandlungsstrategie, Dokumentation, aber auch Präsentation und Patientenaufklärung assistieren und damit den klinischen Alltag und die Kommunikation zwischen den Fachkräften erleichtern. Mithilfe automatisierter Verfahren soll zudem der Weg zu standardisierten Prozeduren und damit vergleichbaren Analyseergebnissen bereitet werden.

21.09.2020

headline-marker EVENTOR

Projektbeschreibung

Eventor ist ein Projekt in Kooperation mit der SWAN – Scientific Workflow Analysis GmbH. Ziel des Projektes ist eine technische Verknüpfung von Prozesslogik und Integrationstechnologien für den intra- und peri-operativen Bereich. Datenaustausch und Interaktion zwischen verschiedenen Medizingeräten können somit teilautomatisiert erfolgen und dynamisch auf die chirurgische Situation angepasst werden. Daraus ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten für chirurgische Assistenzsysteme. Zudem wird die erforderliche Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion vereinfacht und der Operateur entlastet. Bei der Implementation werden weitestgehend bestehende Kommunikationstechnologien sowie ein spezialisiertes Regelwerk für Prozessinformationen genutzt. Die entwickelten Konzepte und Prototypen werden an ausgewählten klinischen Anwendungsfällen evaluiert.

Forschungsziele

Die wachsende Zahl der Medizingeräte und Informationssysteme im Bereich des Operationssaals führt zu einem gesteigerten administrativen Aufwand im intra- und peri-operativen Bereich. Die Möglichkeiten einer Vereinfachung durch Prozesslogik werden in Rahmen des Projektes mit folgenden Teilzielen evaluiert:

  • Anbindung bestehender Medizingeräte und Informationssysteme an eine prozessgestützte Vernetzungstechnologie,
  • Modellierung chirurgischer Anforderungen auf Basis bestehender Prozessmodell-Konzepte,
  • Konzeption eines Regelwerks zur Integration von Prozessinformationen,
  • Entwicklung und Evaluation von prototypischen Implementierungen für ausgewählte klinische Einsatzfelder.

Thematische Schwerpunkte

Das Projekt verbindet drei aktuelle Forschungsgebiete:

  • komplexe Modellierung chirurgischer Prozesse,
  • situationsbezogene Kommunikation und Interaktion von Medizingeräten,
  • prozessgestützte Informationsflüsse.

Bisherige Forschungsergebnisse

Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden bisher klinische Anwendungsfelder strukturiert und eine Anforderungsanalyse durchgeführt sowie bestehende Technologien auf ihre Nutzbarkeit innerhalb des Vorhabens evaluiert.

eventor_bild
Die Abbildung veranschaulicht die ereignisbasierte Vernetzung verschiedener Geräte und Systeme im Operationssaal über die CommBox.

Ausblick

Eventor entwickelt und evaluiert Konzepte zur dynamischen Verknüpfung von Prozesslogik und Integrationstechnologien für verschiedene klinische Anwendungsfelder. Die Entwicklungen im Rahmen des Eventor-Projekts leisten einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur fachlichen Einbettung des Informationsflusses bestehender Medizingeräte in die chirurgische Arbeit und werden damit zu einer besseren Patientenversorgung beitragen.

03.09.2020

headline-marker OR.NET

Projektbeschreibung

OR.NET ist ein Verbundvorhaben im Rahmen des BMBF Förderprogramms „IKT 2020 – Forschung für Innovation“. Das Ziel der Initiative ist es, grundlegende Konzepte für die sichere dynamische Vernetzung von Komponenten in OP-Saal und Klinik zu erarbeiten, zu evaluieren und in Normierungsaktivitäten zu überführen. Speziell die automatische dynamische Vernetzung computergesteuerter Medizingeräte im OP untereinander und die Interaktion dieser Geräte mit medizinisch zugelassener Software ist eine besondere Herausforderung an die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT) im medizinischen Applikationsumfeld. Durch die Zusammenarbeit von Herstellern, Betreibern, Wissenschaft und regulierenden Stellen werden in diesem Projekt neue Wege für die Gestaltung von Softwarearchitekturen im Krankenhaus der Zukunft aufgezeigt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die IT im Operationssaal und der angrenzenden Bereiche, wobei auch angebundene Systeme zur Operationsplanung, -begleitung, Diagnose und Therapie berücksichtigt werden. Hohe Priorität hat die Vernetzung, die Interoperabilität und der sichere Betrieb der Infrastruktur. Neben der Konzeption und Definition neuer, bereichsübergreifender Standards werden von Beginn des Projekts an alle erforderlichen Betrachtungen bezüglich Risikoanalyse, Sicherheit, Interoperabilität der ausgetauschten Daten und der entwickelten IT-Infrastruktur durchgeführt und mit den Partnern (VDE, DIN, DKE, IHE…) in die Standardisierung überführt. Zusammen mit den beteiligten Firmen, verantwortlichen Anwendern und Betreibern werden Betreibermodelle entwickelt, die eine Überführung der Gesamtfunktionalität ermöglichen.

Forschungsziele

Das übergeordnete Projektziel ist die Realisierung einer Integration von Medizingeräten im OP basierend auf einheitlichen Kommunikationstechnologien, welche für die Standardisierung vorbereitet werden sollen. Das Gesamtziel gliedert sich in folgende Teilprojekte:

  • Vernetzung von Medizinprodukten basierend auf einer SOA, unter Nutzung von existierenden „Standards“ aus dem Bereich des Internets wie WSDL, SOAP, XML Schema,
  • Übergang der in OR.NET entwickelten Lösungen in internationale Normengremien hin zu harmonisierten Standards,
  • Entwicklung geeigneter Betreibermodelle, die eine rasche Umsetzung unter Bezug der Anforderungen der beteiligten Interessengruppen ermöglichen.
  • Die im Verlauf des Projektes erarbeiteten Technologien sollen in klinischen Demonstratoren praktisch umgesetzt werden. Dabei sollen speziell die Aspekte der Sicherheit, Netzwerkintegration und Zulassungsfähigkeit untersucht werden.

Thematische Schwerpunkte

Das Gesamtprojekt OR.NET wird durch 46 Projektpartner bearbeitet. Die thematischen Schwerpunkte des ICCAS umfassen folgende Themen:

  • strukturierte klinische und technologische Anforderungsanalyse,
  • Einbringen der Ergebnisse aus Vorarbeiten (z. B. smartOR) und Unterstützung der klinischen und industriellen Partner bei der Aufzeichnung und Dokumentation ergänzender klinischer Use-Cases,
  • Definition einer Gesamtarchitektur basierend auf den Vorarbeiten der Partner,
  • Entwurf, Evaluierung und Implementierung von Softwarekomponenten und assoziierten Geräten im OP-Saal,
  • Implementierung von Kommunikationsschnittstellen für Informationssysteme bzw. Kommunikationsserver,
  • Internationalisierung der Zulassungsfähigkeit und Mitarbeit bei der Ableitung von Standards,
  • Implementierung eines Demonstrator-OPs in Leipzig
  • Evaluation und Validierung des Gesamtkonzeptes im klinischen Umfeld.

Bisherige Forschungsergebnisse

In Anforderungsanalysen, die gemeinsam mit klinischen Partnern durchgeführt wurden, sind für die Neurochirurgie und die HNO-Chirurgie Operationen identifiziert worden, die von einer Geräteintegration und -kommunikation profitieren können. Bei einer anschließenden Analyse im Operationsaal wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit Chirurgen mehrere klinische Use-Cases benannt. Gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Projektpartnern wurde in gemeinsamen Workshops an der Definition von Kommunikationsbeziehungen zwischen den zu integrierenden Medizingeräten gearbeitet. Dies führt im ersten Projekt zu einer Geräteabstraktion, für die in den aktuellen Arbeiten konkrete Architekturen und Schnittstellentechnologien entworfen werden.

Artikel zur Ergebnispräsentation im Leipziger Demonstrator am 16.12.2015

Kooperationen

Carl Zeiss Meditec, AGConworx Technology GmbH, DIN – Deutsches Institut für Normung e. V., Forschungsstelle für Medizinproduktrecht (FMPR), Fraunhofer FIRST, Fraunhofer MEVIS, how to organize, IHE Deutschland e. V., Ingenieurbüro Wolfgang Blocher, Inomed Medizintechnik GmbH, KARL STORZ, Klinikum Rostock, Klinik für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin KLS Martin Group, LOCALITE GmbH, MedPlan Engineering GmbH, MT2IT, qcmed GmbH Quality Consulting Medical, Rhön-Kliniken AG, Richard Wolf GmbH, RWTH Aachen, Lehrstuhl für Medizinische Informationstechnik (MedIT), RWTH Aachen, Lehrstuhl für Medizintechnik (mediTEC), Siemens HealthCare, STARC medical GmbH, SurgiTAIX AG, Synagon GmbH, Söring GmbH, TRILUX GmbH & Co. KG Medical Technology, TU München, Institut für Informatik, Robotics and Embedded Systems, TU München, Lehrstuhl für Automatisierung und Informationssysteme, TU München, Lehrstuhl MIMED im Bereich Mechatronik, TU München, Minimal-invasive Interdisziplinäre Therapeutische Intervention (MITI), Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Integrierte Teleanästhesiologie, Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Klinik für Anästhesiologie, Uniklinik der RWTH Aachen, Orthopädische Klinik, Uniklinik Leipzig, Klinik für HNO, Uniklinik Leipzig, Klinik für Neurochirurgie, Uniklinik Tübingen, Radiologische Universitätsklinik, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitäts- Frauenklinik, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitätsklinik für Radiologie, Uniklinik Tübingen, Universitätsklinik für Urologie, UniTransferKlinik GmbH, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Zentrum für Informations- und Medizintechnik, Universitätsklinikum Schleswig- Holstein, Chirurgie, Universitätsklinikum Schleswig- Holstein, Stabsstelle IT, Universität Rostock – Institut für Angewandte Mikroelektronik und Datentechnik, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Softwaretechnik und Programmiersprachen, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Telematik, Universität zu Lübeck, Institut für Medizinische Informatik, VDE Verband der Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik, VISUS Technology Transfer GmbH, Vital Images Germany GmbH, Ziehm Imaging GmbH, MEDNOVO Medical Software Solutions GmbH

17.11.2020

headline-marker OP-Planungssoftware für die Gefäßprothesen-Implantation

Projektbeschreibung

Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der Definition von Anforderungen an eine chirurgische Planungssoftware, die der Vorbereitung des chirurgischen Einsatzes von Stentgrafts dient. Des Weiteren wird die Machbarkeit eines physikalisch basierten Simulationsmodell zur Bewertung von Stentgraftfixierung- und Abdichtungspotenzial untersucht sowie Anforderungen an ein Softwaremodul zur Auswertung der Ergebnisse im medizinischen Umfeld definiert. Die Beschreibbarkeit der anfallenden Daten basiert vorwiegend auf vorhandenen Standards, erforderliche Erweiterungen werden zusätzlich aufgenommen.

Thematische Schwerpunkte des Projektes

  • Implantatauswahl in der endovaskulären Gefäßchirurgie
  • Integration von Finite-Elemente-Methode(FEM) in eine medizinische Planungssoftware
  • Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion
  • Workflowanalyse
  • Medizinische Standards: DICOM

Problem

Eine häufige Komplikation bei der endovaskulären Ausschaltung von Aortenaneurysmen ist das Abrutschen des Stentgrafts, was eine unzureichende Abdichtung des Gefäßes zur Folge haben kann. Diese postoperative Komplikation kann mit der Auswahl des Gefäßimplantates in Verbindung gebracht werden. Insbesondere die Bestimmung des Stentgraft Übermaßes ist für die Fixierung des Implantates im Gefäß von entscheidender Bedeutung.
Abbildung 1: Integration von Berechnungsergebnissen (FEM-Modell) in eine medizinische Planungssoftware zur Bewertung von Stentgrafteigenschaften (Fixieruns- und abdichtungspotenzial)


Abbildung 2: Patientenmodell EVAR: Beschreibung aller interventionsrelevanter Daten. Integration von simulationsspezifischen Daten mittels standardisierter Datenstrukturen

Forschungsziele

  • Integration von FEM-Ergebnissen in eine medizinische Planungssoftware zur besseren Einschätzung des Migrations- und Leckagerisikos bei endovaskulärer Ausschaltung eines Aortenaneurysmas
  • Unterstützung des Mediziners bei der Auswahl eines passenden Gefäßimplantates durch die quantifizierte Bewertung von Stentgrafteigenschaften im implantierten Zustand